About
Community
Bad Ideas
Drugs
Ego
Erotica
Fringe
Society
Technology
register | bbs | search | rss | faq | about
meet up | add to del.icio.us | digg it
Go Back   Community > Technology > Network (in)Security
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Network (in)Security Interesting hacks and cracks. Info on firewalls, TCP/IP, encryption, networks, and security. The ins and outs of the phone system, caller services, how things work, what's illegal and what's not, cellular phones, beepers, telephony legislation, the PUC, ISDN, taps, who's listening, and switches. Talking about phones, hacking systems, technical advice, and such is completely LEGAL in the United States -- it's covered by the First Amendment. What's illegal is conspiracy to commit a crime. So if you say something like "Meet me at 2am so we can crack a can" or "I changed my cell phone's number myself" you are criminally liable. Stating "You can crack a can by doing thus-and-so" or "If you wanted to change a cell phone's number, you could do it like so" is perfectly OK. Posting passwords, calling card numbers, or credit card numbers is forbidden on this network. Posting such info will get you booted off the net.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 #1 
Old 2008-10-09, 06:39
Regular
 
Default altfarm.mediaplex.com??? PLEASE HELP

so the past couple times i have gone onto my yahoo email, and it says "Safari cannot verify the identity of the website altfarm.mediaplex.com blah blah blah." i have no idea what this is. i googled it and found some people who had asked about it on some message boards but i couldnt understand the responses (I'm not good with the technicalities of computer problems).

Anyways, if anybody knows what this is please let me know. Thanks a lot.
Oh and I'm on Leopard OSX 10.5.1, if that helps.
 #2 
Old 2008-10-09, 06:53
Aragami Aragami is offline
Regular
 
Default Re: altfarm.mediaplex.com??? PLEASE HELP

Ad server.

In layman terms, thats where all the ads in your browser come from.
 #3 
Old 2008-10-10, 06:40
Regular
 
Default Re: altfarm.mediaplex.com??? PLEASE HELP

so should i be worried about anything? or just ignore it?
 #4 
Old 2008-10-10, 17:03
Super Moderator
 
In a nuclear crater
Default Re: altfarm.mediaplex.com??? PLEASE HELP

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephan_jenkins
so should i be worried about anything? or just ignore it?


Just ignore it. It just means that your connection to the advertising server isn't being done through a secure connection. Like that would matter in any case. Roll Eyes (Sarcastic)

Even if you wanted to buy something off the ads, it's the connection to the seller that would need to be secured anyways. It's pointless to care if someone can see the ads that are being sent to you -- assuming someone's actively sniffing your connection.
 
To the best of our knowledge, the text on this page may be freely reproduced and distributed.
 

totse.com certificate signatures
 
 
About | Community | Bad Ideas | Drugs | Ego | Erotica | Fringe | Society | Technology
Hot Topics